Through the marvels of modern medicine, we as a society are continuously finding new ailments, diseases, conditions and illnesses. We put a name on them. We spend tons of money on treatment, medications, drug research. But every once in a while there comes a condition that is completely resistent to traditional treatments.

It is a nasty disease. It starts by taking hold of the emotions and thought process of the patient. Eventually it completely overwhelms, and paralyzes the brain, preventing things like optimism and patience. It is debilitating.

I am talking about… “Attitude Cancer”.

I, personally, came down with this disease immediately after the death of my wife. I sought treatment, but since I did not understand it myself, it was difficult to describe it to others. Of course, I did not want to explain it. I did not want to get rid of it. As a matter of fact, I wanted to infect as many other people as possible, as quickly as I could. I figured, if I could not be happy, then why the hell should anyone else be happy?

Eventually I made the conscious decision that I was not going to allow my life to deteriorate any further. I would not allow Attitude Cancer to claim me as a victim. I simply was not going to take it anymore, nor was I going to allow those around me to contract the disease.

I self-prescribed the following:

I am not going to look backward and wish for what once used to be.

I am not going to waste time on regret.

I am not going to compare my current life to my past life.

I am not going to be angry at those who don’t understand.

This is MY life. It is up to ME. I will NOT allow Attitude Cancer to claim me.

